
Deficiency Self Report CPE Audit Self Report CPE Audit

<5 hours No Action Advisory Letter Reprimand*
Reprimand & 

$100*

>5 but ≤ 10 hours Advisory Letter Reprimand
Reprimand & 

$100*

Reprimand & 

$150*

$8 per hour & 

Reprimand*

$10 per hour & 

Reprimand*

$12 per hour & 

Reprimand*

$15 per hour & 

Reprimand*

Additional disciplinary action N/A N/A N/A

1-year suspension 

if deficiency ≥ 80 

hours

Deficiency Self Report CPE Audit Self Report CPE Audit
Failure to take 1 year of Virginia Approved 

Ethics**
Advisory Letter Reprimand

Reprimand and 

$250

Reprimand and 

$350

Failure to take more than 1 year of Virginia 

Approved Ethics**
Reprimand

Reprimand and 

$250

Reprimand and 

$350

Reprimand and 

$500

Failure to meet the annual minimum 20 CPE hours 

in any given calendar year(s)
Reprimand

Reprimand and 

$250

Reprimand and 

$350

Reprimand and 

$500

Failure to take 8 hours of Auditing and Attestation 

in any single given calendar year
Reprimand

Reprimand and 

$250

Reprimand and 

$350

Reprimand and 

$500

Failure to take 8 hours of Auditing and Attestation 

for more than 1 year in the same reporting 

period.

Reprimand and 

$250

Reprimand and 

$350

Reprimand and 

$500

Reprimand and 

$750

False Certification of CPE during renewal Advisory Letter Reprimand
 Reprimand and 

$150

Reprimand and 

$250

Failure to update demographics Advisory Letter Reprimand
Reprimand and 

$150

Reprimand and 

$250

Failure to respond to a CPE audit

Failure to comply with VBOA disciplinary action

CPE  Deficiency

** Licensee will be required to submit proof of completion of the current year’s VBOA approved ethics course 

Additional Fines

•Suspension of license 

•Licensee must come in front of the Board for reinstatement

Proceeding under Code of Virginia §2.2-4019 (IFF)

Penalty per deficient CPE hour >10 hours

Second Offense^ Third Offense ^
all cases

First Offense

* All CPE Orders for deficiencies ≥ 10 hours will include a reprimand, requirement to make up the deficient CPE, and a compliance review for the next reporting 

^Second and third offenses applied when the current deficiency is within the same category of the prior deficiency.  For example, a licensee deficient  CPE hours in 

2015 and again in 2023, or a licensee failed to meet the annual ethics requirement is 2017  and again in 2023.

First Offense Second Offense^ Third Offense ^
all cases

Reprimand and $500

Reprimand $200

Reprimand $250*

$25 per hour & 

Reprimand*

1-year suspension if 

deficiency ≥ 60 hours

Reprimand and $750

Reprimand and $500

Reprimand and $750

Reprimand and $750

Reprimand and $750

Reprimand and $1000


